New amp recommendation

MWS

New amp recommendation
« on: 10 Jun 2016, 04:47 pm »
Hello, newbie here. I recently bought some JBL 250ti's. Can anyone suggest a nice amp to go with them? I have a tube amp that worked well with my La Scala's, but I believe I need more power for these? Might get a budget power amp with a nicer pre-amp, and upgrade the power amp in the future. I would appreciate your thoughts. Thanks.

-Mark

mresseguie

• SW1X DAC+ D Sachs 300b + Daedalus Apollos = Heaven
Re: New amp recommendation
« Reply #1 on: 10 Jun 2016, 05:06 pm »
Hello, Mark.

Your supplying a bit more information will go a long way toward making recommendations easier. As it is, someone could recommend a $100 amp or a $20,000 amp because we don't know what your budget is.

So....

What is your budget?
It sounds as though you want separate amp/preamp, correct?
Do you want a tube amp/preamp?
Do you want a SS amp? (Class A, A/B, D?)
Cabinet size restraints?
Anything else you can think of?

Regards,

Michael

srb

« Reply #2 on: 10 Jun 2016, 05:10 pm »
I have a tube amp that worked well with my La Scala's, but I believe I need more power for these?

The high sensitivity horn-loaded Klipsch La Scala's have a quoted sensitivity of ~ 104 - 105dB and the JBL 250ti ~ 90dB.  That's quite a difference and that 15dB could roughly translate into the JBLs needing 32X the power versus the La Scala for the same output!

It depends how much power your tube amp was using for your listening level and distance, but I would probably agree that you may need more power.

For a new budget amplifier, the Emotiva BasX A-300 Class A/B power amplifier will give you 150W/ch @ 8ohms for $400.  You will likely also get some recommendations for the Crown DriveCore XLS Class D power amplifiers for around the same price.