auditioning speakers ……..

twitch54

auditioning speakers ……..
« on: 17 Feb 2016, 06:03 pm »
I've been listening through planar / electrostatics for over thirty years (currently M/L Spires) yet every 3-5 years I get the itch to see if there is something better at or near my price point ……….. so far there hasn't been. The past couple of weeks I've been at it again, this time with a few 'eye openers' ……….

1) Bryston (flagship) Model T floorstanders - while they have gotten a lot of positive feedback, they are not for me, at moderate listening levels they just seem dull ……….YMMV

2) JBL Synthesis 1400's - Wow …….these babies caught me by surprise, going back for an extended listening shortly. Yeah they are 'funky' looking, but very musical.

3) Revel F208's - another WOW…….might just be the best sub 10k speaker (box) I've ever heard …….. and they actually msrp for 5k ! I now want to hear the Studio 2's so as to confirm the triple price differential. The Salon 2's are too pricey for my budget.

4) Vandersteen Quatro Wood CT - have not listened to them as of now but plan to soon.

So, comments from those that might have , own or listened to any of the above ……..

aldcoll

• Champagne Taste on a Water Budget
Re: auditioning speakers ……..
« Reply #1 on: 17 Feb 2016, 06:18 pm »
You mentioned a PRICE point and yet you didn't list it?

Some additional info on room or equipment or at least are you a heavy metal thrasher or do you only listen to Gillian Welch?

Alan

srb

« Reply #2 on: 17 Feb 2016, 06:41 pm »

Given the speakers listed, the retail "price point" seems to span a range from ~ $5,000 to $14,000.

twitch54

« Reply #3 on: 17 Feb 2016, 08:15 pm »

Alan, my price point was what relates to my present Logan's …….. 10k, the Revel Studio 2's would be at the upper end of what I would consider

Some additional info on room or equipment or at least are you a heavy metal thrasher or do you only listen to Gillian Welch?

Alan