Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Read 699 times.

glitchesbrew

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 7
Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« on: 19 Jan 2019, 09:37 pm »
Hi folks,
I have a DAC9 and and STA-9 that I use with a pair of Rogers LS3/5A.
Overall I'm satisfied with the result but I was wondering if adding another STA-9 and use the amps a monoblocks will be an improvement.
The Rogers are 15Ohms and I often listen to low/medium volumes.
Will this solutions be able drive better my speakers in your opinion.
Will the increase of dynamic be noticeable with this setup?
Do I risk to damage them?

Thanks in advance for you help.

Evoke

  • Industry Participant
  • Posts: 203
    • EVOKE Planar Loudspeakers
Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #1 on: 19 Jan 2019, 09:59 pm »
Hi folks,
I have a DAC9 and and STA-9 that I use with a pair of Rogers LS3/5A.
Overall I'm satisfied with the result but I was wondering if adding another STA-9 and use the amps a monoblocks will be an improvement.
The Rogers are 15Ohms and I often listen to low/medium volumes.
Will this solutions be able drive better my speakers in your opinion.
Will the increase of dynamic be noticeable with this setup?
Do I risk to damage them?

Thanks in advance for you help.


I have experimented with mono blocks vs stereo and bridging channels. The benefits are really audible. Think of it like this. You have a nice Toyota going 70 MPH. Compare it to a Ferrarri doing 70 MPH. Which has more dynamicis? Headroom? Which is more prone to damage if pushed?


That's right. If you still listen and enjoy like normal, you will hear extended dynamics, much better low level resolution. You'll jump off your chair for hearing some musical attacks for the first time - and it's not about loud - it's about headroom.


You simply can't go wrong.


Mark

John Casler

Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #2 on: 19 Jan 2019, 10:39 pm »
In General, YES there are benefits to "bridging", beyond just Power (Headroom) and Dynamics.

It has been stated that bridging a NuPRIME amp actually "improves" audible qualities.

Most conventional amps see reduced stability, increased noise, and increased distortion.

Bridging the NuPRIME does not suffer these issues and so aside from the normal improved dynamics and headroom, you get a more stable, and quieter or equally quiet sonic.

glitchesbrew

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 7
Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #3 on: 19 Jan 2019, 11:05 pm »
Thank you both. I think I'll give it a go then ;)

opnly bafld

Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #4 on: 20 Jan 2019, 03:38 am »

glitchesbrew

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 7
Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #5 on: 20 Jan 2019, 11:28 am »
Thanks opnly bafld

Eisener Bart

Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #6 on: 25 Jan 2019, 05:10 pm »
Hi folks,
I have a DAC9 and and STA-9 that I use with a pair of Rogers LS3/5A.
Overall I'm satisfied with the result but I was wondering if adding another STA-9 and use the amps a monoblocks will be an improvement.
The Rogers are 15Ohms and I often listen to low/medium volumes.
Will this solutions be able drive better my speakers in your opinion.
Will the increase of dynamic be noticeable with this setup?
Do I risk to damage them?

Thanks in advance for you help.

Keep in mind, that bridged mode will add also "warm" in sound of your system.

Samoyed

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 279
Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #7 on: 25 Jan 2019, 05:29 pm »
Why?

Evoke

  • Industry Participant
  • Posts: 203
    • EVOKE Planar Loudspeakers
Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #8 on: 25 Jan 2019, 06:06 pm »
Why?


We need to be careful of the word "warm". NuPrime amps have a genius designer. He has designed several circuits and NuPrime has published a forum that describes them in extreme detail. Our normal reaction to warm is like a class AB amp - innacurate. That is not true in this case. The Nuprime amps can be very accurate, lean or favor a bit of tube flavor. Once again, read the thread - in all cases the amps have a Class A front end, and one of the best Class D back ends available at any price.

Tsmith

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 21
  • Upgraditus is a real disease
Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #9 on: 26 Jan 2019, 04:01 pm »
I have an STA-9 that I bridge and use on my Center which is a Martin Logan Motion 50 and think it works really well as a mono amp.

I also used this amp to drive a pair on in ceiling Atmos speakers for a short time and thought it worked really well there as well

glitchesbrew

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 7
Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #10 on: 27 Jan 2019, 01:00 am »
Thank you all guys

Eisener Bart

Re: Bridged STA-9 for Roger's LS3/5A
« Reply #11 on: 27 Feb 2019, 04:44 pm »
Why?

It was done by manufacturer.  :)

By the way I am using 2 pcs of STA-9 in vertical bi-amping connection now. And I've ordered 2 pcs more, gonna arrange the quadro-amping.  :green: