DAC's? Solid or Tubes? Suggestions

chgolatin2

DAC's? Solid or Tubes? Suggestions
« on: 29 Sep 2015, 11:36 pm »
Need a nice DAC pair along with a Cary Audio and Jolida FX 10 integrated amp, also, while using my laptop/house computer.  I am looking into streaming music.  So many options out there, some are very, very pricey others fall under the cheap and cheerful side.  Now I am no expert when it comes to DAC but some are sold at 24bit/192khz and others at 32bit/384khz.  I want to be able to use a headphone as well, seems like I am asking for too much.  Since I prefer tube audio I wanted to lean toward to a Tube DAC, but I can allow my Cary Audio/Jolida tube amps take care of that and just go with a solid state DAC. Now my understanding is that the higher the bit/khz the better sound I will get from the DAC am I correct?  Also, suggestions on whats on the cheap and cheerful side of DAC's?  Visited eBay and Amazon, but I am looking for guidance from those that know better than I do...

Thanks in advance~ 

Letitroll98

• Facilitator
  • Too loud is just right
Re: DAC's? Solid or Tubes? Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: 30 Sep 2015, 04:13 am »
Audio gd NFB-11 would be my suggestion.  Sabre ES9018 chip run 32 bit/ 384k.  DSD, DXD is supported, doesn't say more than that about rate(?).  Perhaps I missed it, you could email them to see if 5.6 MHz is supported.  Powerful headphone amp, the older model NFB-12 (thanks again JohnR) was detailed, but a tad overetched.  This looks like a different design.  $325 plus shipping.  Kinda pushing C&C guidelines, but not by much.  The company has been around for years with a decent reputation, excellent if compared to Chinese competition, but you do have to buy from China with all that entails.  Lots of technology, build quality, and sound quality for small dollars.