Bread.

sfox7076

Bread.
« on: 12 Jul 2015, 03:08 am »
Anyone else a bread baker here?  I tend to mostly make a miche and challah (for Friday nights).  Yes, it is all by hand and all multigrain.  Just wonder if anyone else here bakes.

konut

• Came for the value, stayed for the drama
Re: Bread.
« Reply #1 on: 12 Jul 2015, 03:52 am »
 I was a baker for 30+ years, but haven't done any baking for a couple of years.

« Last Edit: 12 Jul 2015, 01:48 pm by konut »

weatherman1

« Reply #2 on: 12 Jul 2015, 05:20 am »
When I was young and had family I baked bread.  Children long gone, wife dead, now I love to bake with grandchildren for the simple joy of watching the wonder in their eyes and the smiles on their faces when they get to measure, kneed, and play with the dough until it reaches the right texture.  Love the smell, texture, fresh sweet butter and memories.

jtwrace

• www.theintellectualpeoplepodcast.com
    • TIPP YouTube Channel
« Reply #3 on: 12 Jul 2015, 02:42 pm »

dspringham

« Reply #4 on: 12 Jul 2015, 03:39 pm »
Wow, that baking looks great...
however according to new "food nazis" bread and any other "grain" products are being blamed for almost all of today's physical health ills as well as mental issues... "grain brain"?

What a shame. What ever happened to the "staff of life"?

Ever tried gluten free bread? Like eating cardboard (taste and texture).

Bring back the real stuff!!!

bigjppop

« Reply #5 on: 12 Jul 2015, 03:44 pm »
I've just started baking bread and I love it! You've got some beautiful examples there. I've been experimenting with some longer, slower, fermentation in my fridge and so far have been very pleased. It means I have to plan several days in advance for when I want to bake bread but the actual baking is pretty easy. I've also been baking with my enamel cast iron dutch oven which has given some good results.

Wind Chaser

« Reply #6 on: 12 Jul 2015, 04:17 pm »