A few easy questions: impedance, connectors, mods, etc.

captainx0r

All, I'm pretty new to audiophilism, so bear with me.  I'm catching up on a lot of things, but I think I'm still missing some pretty basic stuff.

1. I'm trying to get my head around this impedance thing.  I gather that the common "low end" speakers are generally 8ohm, while some fancy ones are 4ohm and that there's an issue with any particular amps ability to drive one or the other.  Where can I find a good summary of this?  I've read 3 FAQs and scanned the first few pages of this forum thinking it would be covered, but nothing yet.  I bought decent speakers from a poor college audiophile a few years ago, and they're rated(?) at 6ohm.  Where do they fit into the mix?

2. The speakers came with a fancy bi-wire setup, but the spaded ends don't quite fit with my amp.  The speakers have banana recepticals (don't worry, I'm about to use a few more incorrect terms) that unscrew in half, so you can clamp the spade in, or use bananas.  My amp just has the banana ones, and they unscrew, but there's a plastic collar around them presumably to keep stray cable strands in check and away from other terminals.  The problem is the spade won't fit in the little hole in the collar, so I have some ~12ga. copper wire wrapped around the spade (and taped up real good) and inserted into the hole in the collar and screwed down.  Not a great setup - I've been looking for some kind of a spade to banana converter, but I must be looking in the wrong places.  Or is there a better way.  I'm not too into the idea of redoing the connectors on the cables.

3. What's the deal with setting speakers (the output in the amp I guess) to "large" or "small".  This one is tough to search on.