HELP- Assistance needed in final testing of AKSA 55W

Fredly

I’m a relative newbie to DIY kits, and this is certainly the most advance kit I’ve ever built, so having said that I’d very much like some input/feedback on the problems I’m experiencing on the final testing stage of my AKSA 55W kit.

So lets begin at step 3 (or 23) – Power on & adjust initial bias

With the fuses yet not in a quick voltage read across R21 measures 1.2V (Excellent)
Now reading across R22 we get exactly the same measurement 1.2V (Excellent)

Do the same thing for the other PCB

1.8V for R21, and again, 1.8V for R22 (still within the 1.2V-3.2V guidelines - Excellent)

Verifying the voltages across the positive and negative rail for PCB1 we get +39V & -39V (Excellent)
Verify the other PCB voltage, again +39V & –39V (Excellent)

Next we proceed to step 4 (or 24) – Measure & Trim Output offset Voltages.

Checking the voltage we get for PCB1 between speaker output and earth we get –8.13V (NOT GOOD)
Checking the same voltage on the other PCB we get 53mv (Not UNDER the 50mv suggested, but pretty close)

Lets continue testing the “good” PCB ONLY and go to step 5 (Step 25) – Fit 5A Fuses and adjust Bias

With the Probes across TP1 and TP2 we adjust the bias pot screw until we get 50mv (Done)

Next we verify the voltage between output and earth is less than 30mv (Crap – I get 72.5mV – NOT GOOD)

So my friends, this is where the party stopped for me and some serious troubleshooting on each PCB begins.

For the first PCB with the –8.13V output to earth reading, I’m going to follow the Situation 2 of the Diagnostics.  With a negative reading, it looks like I MAY have a shorted PNP transistor.

I’m I proceeding correctly here?

For the second PCB, with the 72.vmV reading at Step 25, I guess I need to start tinkering with R3 and find a good value. Once I get the voltage to less than 30mV, I can proceed with the testing phase.

Again, is this my best/only method of recourse?