Basic questions about separates, preamps, amps, etc.

superjohnny

Hi All,
First, thanks for the great forum.  So I'm new to 2 channel audio and the whole concept of separates.  My plan is to build up a nice 2 channel system and I'm debating using something like a nice Pioneer Elite receiver or going separate.  Everyone seems to think 2 channel is better, but I don't know what it is :oops:

I'm currently using a H&K AVR125 receiver with 2 KLH speakers.  It's ok, but not hifi by any stretch of the imagination.  My plan is to build some DIY speakers based on the Ed Frias design and when I get some more $ upgrade my receiver.  I'm pretty handy with the soldering iron & DIY thing.  I've made numerous interconnects & headphone amps based on the Grado RA1 and CMOY designs.  If I could find a good design and instructions I'm confident I could put together a preamp as they're not too much different... or are they?  

I'm kinda lost here guys...  Can someone give me a good once over on how this all works?  
Thank you

<edit> more questions...
What does "bi wiring" speakers mean?
What's a "monoblock"?
What's a "transport"?
If you have an amp, why do you need a preamp?

Fife12

« Reply #1 on: 22 Sep 2004, 07:09 am »
What does "bi wiring" speakers mean?

Two wires going into the speaker instead of one assuming you have a speaker binding post with 4 posts (2 positive and 2 negative)

Example one:
Using say the left speaker as an example, you can use 1 cable of a stereo pair (one side postive and one side negative) and run them from your amplifier to the speaker but split each positive and negative wire into two so that you end up with 2 positive and 2 negative cables. Attach each pair of positive cables to each of the 2 positive speaker posts and the same with the 2 negative wires.

Example two: