Projector & Screen recommendations - need help

Odal3

Projector & Screen recommendations - need help
« on: 15 Feb 2015, 08:32 pm »
Hi,
I in the process of fixing up my basement, and the plan was to just put down a TV, but then it struck me that the set-up would be perfect for a projector since there are no windows and it would be easy to control the light.

But, I have no experience in this so I'm hoping for some good recommendations on the budget side. Criteria is 1080 resolution, and it would be good with at least 2 HDMI inputs. It will be used for a mix of movies and streaming of TV shows via internet.
From other threads on this forum I gathered that something like the BENQ W1070 or the Epson 8350 would be good starting points.  But, I'm concerned about the rainbow effect on the BENQ.

What about screens? Any recommendations? Is DIY an option or is better to buy something pre-made? it will be fixed mounted on the wall.

Where are good places to look for deals on either projectors and screens?

Once I have sorted out the projector and screen I will start exploring setting up an HTPC as well. Was thinking Linux based.

loving_it

Re: Projector & Screen recommendations - need help
« Reply #1 on: 15 Feb 2015, 09:35 pm »
Sony VPL-HW40ES
I use this model and Im happy

Atlplasma

• Just off the boat
« Reply #2 on: 16 Feb 2015, 03:17 pm »
Hi,
I in the process of fixing up my basement, and the plan was to just put down a TV, but then it struck me that the set-up would be perfect for a projector since there are no windows and it would be easy to control the light.

But, I have no experience in this so I'm hoping for some good recommendations on the budget side. Criteria is 1080 resolution, and it would be good with at least 2 HDMI inputs. It will be used for a mix of movies and streaming of TV shows via internet.