MacBook Air and Ayre QB-9DSD

mr_bill

MacBook Air and Ayre QB-9DSD
« on: 12 Jan 2015, 02:23 pm »
Hi Apple experts,

I have a simple question:

I have been running a Logitech Touch into a dac for many years.
I just bought an Ayre QB-9 and am going to try a MacBook Air into the new dac (which only has USB input).  From there, the dac will run into my integrated.  The new Dac won't be here for a week.

My question:  Can I just connect the MBA to the Dac and play music?

Do I have to configure the MBA in some way or 'tell' it to output USB, etc?
I want it to play Pandora and access my Rhapsody account.  Eventually, I may put my music on it and run a shell like Audivirna, but for now, just simple.

Thanks,

avta

Re: MacBook Air and Ayre QB-9DSD
« Reply #1 on: 12 Jan 2015, 02:34 pm »
Yes you can. I suggest you use a good quality usb cable. This is the one I use. http://www.audioquest.com/usb-digital-audio/carbon . There is quite a bit of discussion online about usb cables and many options. Enjoy the dac. I have one as well and find the sound very pleasant.

srb

« Reply #2 on: 12 Jan 2015, 02:42 pm »
You will need to go into Applications > Utilities > Audio Midi Setup and choose the Ayre USB DAC under Audio Devices.  https://www.ayre.com/usb-dac-apple.htm

When you get to putting your audio library on the Mac, one of the benefits (beside improved sound quality) with an add-in playback engine such as Audirvana is that it will automatically adjust the sample rate to each songs native resolution.  Otherwise if using iTunes by itself you would have to change the sample rate and open and close iTunes each time to maintain bit perfect output.

Steve

mr_bill

« Reply #3 on: 12 Jan 2015, 03:15 pm »
Awesome and great help guys - thanks!

JLM

• The elephant normally IS the room
« Reply #4 on: 12 Jan 2015, 07:29 pm »
Steve, that might be old advice.  On my 2012 iMac and 2014 MacBook Air (both running OS 10.9.5) I go to:

- system preferences
- sound
- outputs (then select)