2009-Mini vs 2010-Mini vs 2013-MacBook Air ???

Voncarlos

• OB5s in Stripes
2009-Mini vs 2010-Mini vs 2013-MacBook Air ???
« on: 6 Jan 2015, 05:01 pm »
I'm new to disc-less audio playback.
My beautifully modded "Ric Shultz (EVS) Oppo" player died a month ago. As I no longer live the life that would allow me to financial replace it, I started looking into a DAC & computer setup.
I have lots of different computers both Windows & Apple, but no Mini's. I do have a 2013 MacBook Air that I am using for audio with the DAC.
And I am using a trial of Amarra 3.0 software.
After some research I bought the Musical Fidelity V90-DAC. Currently using just a cheep USB cable.
I've given it about a week of burn-in, and it's sounding pretty good.
Still have some tweeking to do.

My question is, will I get much improvement in
2009-Mini vs
2010-Mini vs
2013-MacBook Air
Or ???

The above items feed:
Audible Illusion tube Pre (modded)
PSE II Amps (modded)
Magnapan MG-IIIa speakers (modded)
Various cables and wires ($$$)

Oh, and yes, I'm the person who built the GR research OB-5's in the avatar.  :D

avta

Re: 2009-Mini vs 2010-Mini vs 2013-MacBook Air ???
« Reply #1 on: 6 Jan 2015, 05:16 pm »
Do any of them have a SSD?

Voncarlos

• OB5s in Stripes
« Reply #2 on: 6 Jan 2015, 05:20 pm »
Do any of them have a SSD?
Yes, the MacBook Air has a SSD (solid-state-drive). And for me, its not hard to replace a spinning HD with a SSD.

avta

« Reply #3 on: 6 Jan 2015, 05:27 pm »
I would think the 2009 Mac Mini with a SSD would be a good option. It has the possible advantage of an external power supply. Others may chime in with their preferences. I'm not certain however that you would notice a significant improvement in sound with this change although it's possible.

lextek

« Reply #4 on: 9 Jan 2015, 08:50 pm »