Considering 2 channel system, need to learn more about Salk options

SeaNile

Newbie here.  Can't believe it took me so long to find this site and this particular section.

I'm taking a break from my HT while the basement is finished.  I'm really tired of my iPhone and Bose sound dock.  Been a while since I had something good to listen to.  I went auditioning speakers these past few days and checked out as much as I could under 10K.  Wasn't impressed at all with the Dynaudio and B&W (805D, 804D).  I was really impressed with the Focal Electra 1000 Be2 but they are 10K and were being powered by a $16,000 Devialet amp.  I completely forgot about Salk and want to learn more about them. 

Definitely not looking to spend a ton, but also not as little as possible.  The system would be used 95% music and 5% with the TV.  Not interested in a 5.1 system or adding subs.  I'd like to have the 2 speakers on either side of the fireplace and I will not have a ton of room behind the speakers to the wall.

So, I'm looking for a way to listen to my iTune library and would buy a CD/DVD player for my 20-30 favorite albums.  Open to DAC and any other way to listen to high quality recordings.

From looking around it seems like the SS8 would be a good fit.  I have an XPA-5, Crest CC4000 and an iNuke6000dsp amp that I could use but am open to a Peachtree type purchase.

Thanks for the help!  I'm in the Philadelphia suburbs if anyone local has these speakers.

advanced101

I see you were posted in the Philly Audition Thread, great idea.  You might want to PM the members that you are interested in just in case they don't monitor this thread often.  Some users get an e-mail notification of PMs.

Also, here is the official Audition thread:
http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=88740.0
Jim should be able to give you a hand getting in touch with the Owners in case you are having trouble.