Office/2 Channel listening room construction feedback

samplesj

I've been working at home on and off for a few years, but I lost my office a few months ago because of a new addition. I've been happy with floating around from room to room during the day, but since my wife decided to stay home this time my 4 year old is home all the time now too. It doesn't bother me too much, but it keeping him quiet is stressing my wife so she has asked to finish part of the basement for an office. I figure if I'm adding another room it would be great to set it up for 2 channel since I've got a merged system and no other spare space.

In order to minimize sound transmission into the room I was looking at the room in a room style. Outer walls tied to concrete floor and ceiling joists. Inner wall resting on a floating floor with an attached ceiling not connected to joists. I'm going to put 2 sheets of drywall on 1 side of each wall (nothing in the middle of the walls). Since I'm double walling RSIC clips won't really add much. I'm worried about a single wall with RSIC clips because of short circuiting. It looks like the clips are more than 2x4s for another wall anyway. In my case I need to take the full width unless I leave enough for a walkway so the extra space isn't important.

The soundproofing is only to prevent normal household sounds (walking/running, talking/shouting, basement heatpump, basement central vac) from coming in, not to prevent music from leaking out. Does that mean that I can cut any corners since the info I've been seeing has been more about keeping studio noise in. Money wise the extra 2x4s aren't isn't really much more, but it will take longer (DIY). On the other hand don't want to save a little cash and time but regret not double walling from here out.