Auricap mod - 1st mod attempt by Newbie

Danberg

« on: 13 Aug 2004, 01:46 am »
Have been reading "Audio Circle" with great interest since joining recently. I would like to add Auricaps to my current CD player after reading several posts.  

I have no experience in mods and would like advice on how to properly accomplish my 1st attempt at this.  My question specifically refers to comments made in the post "Upgrading the Cambridge Audio D500 CD Player."  
He states that "putting two 0.47UF 600V Auricaps across the hot/neutral wires in the power input of the player is supposed to filter all sorts of crud out of the power."  
He put them "behind the fuse, so they don't fail and catch fire while the unit is un-attended."

The CD player I want to mod, Rotel RCD-975.

My Questions:
1.  The specs (0.47UF 600V) stay the same regardless of the manufacturer of the CD player?  If not, what specs are recommended?

2. Does he mean connect caps across the AC wires (hot/neutral) that come in through the chassis prior to them connecting to anything on the circuit board?  If not, please describe in more detail.

3.  Cause for alarm?! What?! "Install BEHIND the fuse SO THEY DON'T FAIL AND CATCH FIRE, while the unit is un-attended." :o   Why would they possibly catch fire?  Is this a mod "for professionals only"?  Or does he mean, insert them somewhere on the wires BETWEEN the fuse and the circuit board?

5. Any recommended sources for Auricaps?

mgalusha

« Reply #1 on: 13 Aug 2004, 03:58 am »
Dan,

I'll try to help.

The specs (0.47UF 600V) stay the same regardless of the manufacturer of the CD player? If not, what specs are recommended?

That is plenty and it doesn't really matter what type of CDP it is.

Does he mean connect caps across the AC wires (hot/neutral) that come in through the chassis prior to them connecting to anything on the circuit board? If not, please describe in more detail.