Why Do Low Watt Amps Even Sound Good?

Mass. Wine Guy

Why Do Low Watt Amps Even Sound Good?
« on: 10 Feb 2014, 06:14 pm »
I'm not a techie, so this seemed like a good circle to post in. How does a low watt amplifier do an adequate job? My limited understanding is that the higher the power, the easier the amp can handle shifts in the dynamic range, like a symphony going suddenly from a soft passage to a full, loud one.

For example, I was looking online at the new Virtue Audio integrated amp with only 30 watts per channel in typical two channel mode. My Bel Canto has 125 watts per channel. If there is not sonic or performance difference, why do they make amps of varying power levels?

Tyson

• Audio - It's all a big fake.
Re: Why Do Low Watt Amps Even Sound Good?
« Reply #1 on: 10 Feb 2014, 06:17 pm »
Usually low watt systems have simpler circuits and fewer parts.  Simple (when done well) usually sounds better in my experience.

Mass. Wine Guy

« Reply #2 on: 10 Feb 2014, 06:20 pm »
What makes a simple circuit simple?

Tyson

« Reply #3 on: 10 Feb 2014, 06:28 pm »
Usually fewer output devices, less negative feedback, ability to run most or all the watts in Class A instead of Class A-B or Class B.  When you move out of class A you can also have issues with crossover distortion from the output devices. 

Plus, the less $$ you have to spend on the # of parts on the signal portion of the amp, the more you can spend on the power supply - bigger and better caps, better transformers, etc....

One other thing that is not so obvious is that low watt amps tend to be paired with higher efficiency speakers.  And this is important - High eff speakers generally sound better than low eff ones, all other things being equal (which if course, they never are), but you get my point.