Software to organize images

thunderbrick

• Facilitator
  • I'm just not right!
Software to organize images
« on: 5 Feb 2014, 06:34 pm »
Looking for help. A local medical practice is looking for an imaging filing software that will NOT allow image manipulation.  They only want to sort by symptoms, body parts, etc.

They asked about "Major Tom"  :scratch: software, but I have no background in this area.  Reasonably-priced suggestions, please.

'brick

Photon46

Re: Software to organize images
« Reply #1 on: 5 Feb 2014, 07:16 pm »
I presume (?) they are viewing and filing DICOM images, the medical standard for images like MRI's, ct scans, etc.  The link is to a page that has a list of viewer resources half way down the page.

www.mccauslandcenter.sc.edu/mricro/dicom/

thunderbrick

• Facilitator
  • I'm just not right!
« Reply #2 on: 5 Feb 2014, 07:39 pm »
Not sure, but I'll ask.  Thanks!

Bob

thunderbrick

• Facilitator
  • I'm just not right!
« Reply #3 on: 5 Feb 2014, 08:58 pm »
Update:  All the images they want to sort are jpegs.  Does this make it easier to use a consumer-oriented product, and if so, which one(s)?

Thanks!

Bob

Photon46

« Reply #4 on: 6 Feb 2014, 12:14 am »
Bob, here's a link to a recent review of ten photo organizing software offerings that are affordable. A quick check of the specs looks like all of them have some minimal image adjustment features. It may be tough to find consumer oriented image organizing software with no adjustment features at all, that strikes me as a product with very limited appeal. Why is the office so set on having no adjustment features? Fear of employees mucking up the data base perhaps? I hope that their office is performing regular data backups, depending on one hard drive means it's a matter of when, not if,  they lose data. If they are backing up their image files, they will have a fall back catalog in case an employee does adjust something that shouldn't have been touched.