Very basic modelling of W-Frame woofer a la Linkwitz

hogwild

Hi everyone:

I am a newbie, with little ability to do complex math, and even less knowledge about the hobby. Please be gentle.

I would like be able to use some woofers I already have in a Dipole W-frame configuration, similar to Linkwitz's. But since the woofers are a different size (10") than Linkwitz's and quite diff. T/S parameters, I wonder where someone like me might find help, or at least get started figuring out what dimensions to use for a W-frame, knowing the diff. speaker parameters.

I assume it is way too much trouble to be guided through it step by step, but where might I start with such minimal knowledge? Of course, I'm not aiming for perfection here, but these are good woofers, and I'd really like to use them.

Thanks in advance for any help.

sfdoddsy

Re: Very basic modelling of W-Frame woofer a la Linkwitz
« Reply #1 on: 6 Jan 2014, 12:48 am »
What woofers do you have? Linkwitz uses 10" drivers in his W-frame.

hogwild

« Reply #2 on: 6 Jan 2014, 01:32 am »
Thanks for helping such a newbie!

These are 4  10" fiberglass woofers custom made for Gershman Acoustics (+1 in case one breaks). They are labelled as Gershman GA-10. I'm not sure, but they appear to be the same woofers used in Gershman 's "X-Cube" sub and "GAP 828" speaker, but without the metal phase ring.

Acc. to the documentation on Linkwitz's site, The Orion woofers definitely use 12" drivers. Hence my reason for asking help with some basic modelling.

Whoops! I only have some of the T/S parameters. I forgot I didn't do the added mass/known enclosure tests yet, just the initial tests. I'm going to try to do those in the next couple of days, so please, your patience would be appreciated.

I'm not sure how accurate these are, as I'm...you guessed it...new to driver testing as well. I used a Dayton WT3 to do it, making sure to set up everything carefully acc. to instructions.

Re: 5.055 Ohms
F(s)=43.07 Hz
Q(ts)=0.726