ESS Heil AMT - recycled

tfoust

ESS Heil AMT - recycled
« on: 25 Sep 2013, 03:05 pm »
Acquired a vintage Heil AMT for a DIY project.  I have no previous experience with these drivers.  I was anxious to hear it so I connected it to a 10 wpc tube amp fed by a Nuforce dac/ipod interface with an ipod classic.  The output was like a cheap tinny radio.  I knew it wouldn't have bass below 750 hz but it was far from the range I expected from what I read about them. 

Anyone have experience with these drivers and maybe tell me if this is normal or do I need to replace the diaphragm?

Quiet Earth

Re: ESS Heil AMT - recycled
« Reply #1 on: 25 Sep 2013, 03:57 pm »
You know that it's a tweeter, right?

tfoust

« Reply #2 on: 25 Sep 2013, 04:19 pm »
Yes, I understand it's a tweeter but it has a published bottom end of 750 hz.

S Clark

• a riot is the language of the unheard- Dr. King
« Reply #3 on: 25 Sep 2013, 04:31 pm »
Just because it claims to have output at 750 Hz, it doesn't tell you the amount of output.  It might be 6 or more dB down and not even discernible.  I wouldn't be surprised if the actual useable output is above 1200 Hz, depending on impedance/  resonance.
Looking over at Parts Express, most have crossed them from 1500 to 2000 Hz.

Quiet Earth

« Reply #4 on: 25 Sep 2013, 05:09 pm »
That's a good point. And where is it crossed over right now, if at all?

Yes, I understand it's a tweeter but it has a published bottom end of 750 hz.

I think you might be overestimating just how low 750Hz is, as far as musical content is concerned. I think it's mostly upper midrange territory, bordering on treble. The frequency numbers are not linear or intuitive.

*Scotty*

« Reply #5 on: 25 Sep 2013, 05:09 pm »
 tfoust, here is your problem in a nutshell, this driver is a "tweeter". See the frequency response graph below.

Link to website for graph. http://www.moxtone.com/Slavooy.htm
 As you can see, it probably should be crossed over to a woofer no lower than 1500Hz.