Hook up wire - any recommendations?

Luigi

• Busa doing the business
« on: 19 Jul 2004, 10:32 pm »
I am in the final stages of putting together a high sensitivity stand mount speaker kit and would like to use better hook up wire than the rubbish provided.

Any recommendations on what to use? I would prefer to go down the  silver pathway, as the rest of the cabling is silver. Also, solid core, though could be persuaded otherwise if there is good reason to use an alternative.

Finally, are there any wire to wire clamps available instead of relyingon speaker binding posts? If not, where do you buy the speakon units?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions folks.

beat

« Reply #1 on: 19 Jul 2004, 10:44 pm »
Hi luigi,
I have asked the same thing before. I have no first hand experience to offer but it seems as though most people believed the silver would take a really long time to break in. I would still consider it but I'd be ready to take it apart again a month later. The advice given to me was spare myself the headache and or worry and just get a good continuous cast copper. I cant help you in the other department, sorry

Bingenito

Wire and connectors
« Reply #2 on: 19 Jul 2004, 11:28 pm »
Any recommendations on what to use? I would prefer to go down the silver pathway, as the rest of the cabling is silver. Also, solid core, though could be persuaded otherwise if there is good reason to use an alternative.

Finally, are there any wire to wire clamps available instead of relyingon speaker binding posts? If not, where do you buy the speakon units?

I would use stranded silver to avoid skin effect of solid wire. www.apexjr.com will do just fine.

Speakon connectors are available from www.markertek.com and www.partsexpress.com

I used speakons on th apex wire in my linearrays and could not be mor pleased with the result

StevenACNJ

« Reply #3 on: 20 Jul 2004, 11:03 am »
The best solid core silver wire I have used is Audio Consulting wire from Reference Audio Mods