Class D amplification with Tekton Pendragon

boniccie

Class D amplification with Tekton Pendragon
« on: 18 May 2013, 09:19 pm »
I am new to audio circle and recently i have been looking closely to upgrade my amplification from tube to Class D amplifier( Wyred for sound or Bel Canto). They will be driving a pair of tekton Pendragon. The reason of my upgrade is just i am looking for more Low end frequency and more dynamic. Will this be a good match or should i just stick with tubes?
Thanks for all your help in advance.
Dan

Freo-1

Re: Class D amplification with Tekton Pendragon
« Reply #1 on: 1 Jun 2013, 11:13 pm »
I would stick with tubes.  Your speakers are very efficient, so perhaps a different tube amp is in order.  Check out the Low Wattage threads.  One of the members here just got a McAllister 13 WPC Single Ended amp (Neekomax), and he loves it.

Despite some over the top posts here about Class D,  I would be VERY CAREFUL before plucking dollars on one.  They have this ability to initially grab one with a gee whiz, but quickly wears off to annoyance.   
Still, you may like it, BUT, you need to have it your system for some time to get a true handle on it.  The vast majority of tube guys I correspond with simply do not like class D sound, period.

cab

« Reply #2 on: 1 Jun 2013, 11:23 pm »
Yeah, and many people have chosen, for one reason or another, class d amps over tubes. So try a top of the line one and see for yourself because your opinion is all that matters.

Rclark

« Reply #3 on: 1 Jun 2013, 11:38 pm »
Class d will give you extremely,extremely articulate bass, big power and headroom, inaudible (to even bats, probably) noise floor, negligible THD through the entire bandwidth, extreme power efficiency, and a truthful, high resolution presentation of the sound with zero maintenance or headaches.

And Freo loves class d, see his TBI Millenia posts.

Freo-1

« Reply #4 on: 1 Jun 2013, 11:48 pm »