Tube Preamp vs. Passive Preamp

DavidS

Tube Preamp vs. Passive Preamp
« on: 11 May 2013, 03:24 am »
I have been running either a Bent Audio or Warpspeed for past 2 years.  Thinking my system is sounding lean (Mccormack dna 125 is my amp) - has anyone gone from passive to a tube preamp with good success or am I just looking for change for change? 

G Georgopoulos

• Restricted
Re: Tube Preamp vs. Passive Preamp
« Reply #1 on: 11 May 2013, 03:39 am »
I have been running either a Bent Audio or Warpspeed for past 2 years.  Thinking my system is sounding lean (Mccormack dna 125 is my amp) - has anyone gone from passive to a tube preamp with good success or am I just looking for change for change?

Don't be afraid to experimenting,my experience has been both will work,if you feel you need a little boost
use an active preamp,the lean sound you mention probably comes from your speakers

kind regards :green:

cheap-Jack

« Reply #2 on: 11 May 2013, 04:28 pm »
Hi.

I have been running either a Bent Audio or Warpspeed for past 2 years. Thinking my system is sounding lean (Mccormack dna 125 is my amp)

has anyone gone from passive to a tube preamp with good success or am I just looking for change for change?

You said "your system is sounding lean" sound - compared to what?

I've been using my DIYed passive linestages since day one decades back. Clean, transparent, fast, real soundstaging & precise imaging.  Is this what you called "lean"?

On the other hand, any active preamps or linestages produce harmonic distortions, & phase distortion, which to my ears sound thick, vailed & slow-down.

Sorry, I can't go back to any active preamps or linestages as my ears can't tolerate such distortion.

c-J

happyrabbit

« Reply #3 on: 11 May 2013, 10:52 pm »
What happen to your Lamm LL2.1 ??  I noticed it listed in your configuration. I have had an warpspeed ldr, bent tap-x, audion 0.5 (demo), h2o fire (demo), classe ssp-800,and a 71A DHT. 

Dwight

DavidS