trying out new Rogue Audio Atlas Magnum tube amp!!!

mpcrelly

trying out new Rogue Audio Atlas Magnum tube amp!!!
« on: 20 Mar 2013, 04:14 am »
some will remember my post of my experience with a cronus magnum amp...  (read other thread to see how silly I was!!!) 

now I'm trying a brand new amp(just put together by ROGUE I assume since the retailer DID NOT have one in stock).  hesitantly I stuck with rogue to try the atlas magnum which I read great reviews about....  (I'm a tube noob, and wanted to go with an amp that got some good press "stereophile" etc....)

so far so good, day 2....

this was meant as an update if anyone was following my experience from last post "unexpected ear fatige with large tube amp...why?"   http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=114331.0

mpcrelly

Re: trying out new Rogue Audio Atlas Magnum tube amp!!!
« Reply #1 on: 21 Mar 2013, 07:54 am »
so far the atlas magnum is running several degrees cooler than the cronus magnum.  I'm enjoying the huge sound stage and warmth in the bass and low mids.  still a little undecided about the upper mids and treble, wondering how much of that is influenced by my bryston pre and DAC.

no real headaches or ear aches except from higher than normal volumes because I'm enjoying turning it up more that other amps....

QUESTION: any opinions of running amp bias a little higher or lower??  35ma is recommended by rogue

decal

« Reply #2 on: 21 Mar 2013, 12:49 pm »
35ma is recommended by rogue

Call Mark at Rogue and ask him about it.

Ericus Rex

« Reply #3 on: 21 Mar 2013, 01:07 pm »