Affordable OB

Borris

Affordable OB
« on: 30 Jan 2013, 09:29 pm »
Hi,
I have been lurking daily in this forum for the past year.  Finally I have decided to try this magic potion of yours.  I do need some guidance and suggestions.  My experience so far has been only with commercial box speakers and I do have number of those, my wife has the exact count.  THe bottom line is that I love music, from classical to hard rock, but mostly blues and jazz.  I have been looking at Poutrygeist OB and I am leaning towards it.  Are there any other combinations or designs that you would suggest?  Thank you

zipidachimp

Re: Affordable OB
« Reply #1 on: 31 Jan 2013, 10:04 pm »
3-way with enclosed woofer works for me, but I'm just a beginner.  lots of experts here, check out the gallery or google images. I love mine. using a 'fullranger' as a midrange works even better.  :P

Borris

« Reply #2 on: 1 Feb 2013, 02:43 am »
Hi Zipidachimp, thank you for your response.  How is the sealed bass integrating with open baffle, what are you using for midrange?  I want to go full bass ob as well as well as midrange/top.  Has anybody build JBspeakerman proposal with grs woofers?  thank you

JBspeakerman

« Reply #3 on: 2 Feb 2013, 04:31 pm »
Hello Borris....

There have been several of the Ultra's built around the globe.  Get questions and comments about them on occasion.  Considering it's simplicity of design and construction, it performs better than is should with the main draw backs of size and efficiency.  It was meant to be an introduction to the OB world for those who wanted to get a taste.  With that said, nearly all the feed back has been positive.  And most who have built it appreciate the ability to easily adjust the crossover to suit personal taste and room situations.