Super V's wood in place of MDF?

fishboat

Super V's wood in place of MDF?
« on: 10 Jan 2013, 11:53 pm »
I've been considering building a pair of Super V's.  I'm a woodworker and very familiar with MDF.  LOTS of dust, but smooth, flat, & dense.

According to wiki..MDF density ranges from 30-60 lbs/cu ft.  Many hardwoods (quarter-sawn white oak, qs red oak, hard maple...etc) run around 45-47 lbs/cuft.

Are there specific reasons why MDF would be better than a good, dense, hardwood?  Gluing up wide panels from hardwood would be no problem for me...and finishing..well..I like a clear wood finish rather than paint (honestly, paint is a lot more work).

Thanks,
Kevin 

Danny Richie

Re: Super V's wood in place of MDF?
« Reply #1 on: 11 Jan 2013, 06:14 pm »
I've been considering building a pair of Super V's.  I'm a woodworker and very familiar with MDF.  LOTS of dust, but smooth, flat, & dense.

According to wiki..MDF density ranges from 30-60 lbs/cu ft.  Many hardwoods (quarter-sawn white oak, qs red oak, hard maple...etc) run around 45-47 lbs/cuft.

Are there specific reasons why MDF would be better than a good, dense, hardwood?  Gluing up wide panels from hardwood would be no problem for me...and finishing..well..I like a clear wood finish rather than paint (honestly, paint is a lot more work).

Thanks,
Kevin

Welcome to AC.

The reason MDF is preferred is that it is less resonant. Hard woods tend to resonant considerably more in some cases. Hard wood can also change its shape with changes in heat and humidity.

fishboat

« Reply #2 on: 11 Jan 2013, 10:08 pm »
Thanks Danny..

Forgive me as I may not be as well schooled as some here and I'm sure you're busy..so don't waste a lot of time on this...

I'm a chemist/numbers analyst & woodworker...but my physics training was a long time ago.  Is resonance a function of material density? or stiffness?..both?  Anyone have a laymen's equation for material resonance?