Introduction: LaserBoy!

James Lehman

Introduction: LaserBoy!
« on: 11 Oct 2012, 04:50 am »
Hi everyone!

This is my first post.

I'm not really sure where this post belongs, but I'll try it here.

I am a laserist!

That means that I enjoy the hobby of color laser projection.

I am also a software engineer and an audio enthusiast.

So I put all that together and I wrote my own application and developed related technology and came up with a project called LaserBoy!

It is the idea o using a multi-channel sound card to control a full color laser projector.

I'm also a speaker designer, and years before I got into lasers, I wrote an application to use a sound card as a means of measuring frequency vs. voltage for deriving T/S speaker parameters and aiding passive crossover design.

I live in Akron, Ohio. I hope this forum leads to some fun and interesting contacts.

James.  :)

JerryM

• Where's The Bar?
Re: Introduction: LaserBoy!
« Reply #1 on: 11 Oct 2012, 01:03 pm »
Welcome to AC, James!  :thumb:

BobM

« Reply #2 on: 11 Oct 2012, 01:04 pm »
Welcome, Kid Robot!  :thumb:

James Lehman

« Reply #3 on: 11 Oct 2012, 06:55 pm »
Thanks for the welcome.

Quick question: how do I upload an avatar image for my profile?

Anyway..... I got into laser display back in late 2003. I was very surprised how connected to audio the whole thing is. A guy I know wanted me to help him design a show for Akron's First Night 2004 New Year's Celebration. He had some rather expensive proprietary laser projection gear.

I had already been doing a lot of graphics programming in Linux, working directly with the RAM on the video card (aka The Linux Frame Buffer). Using that to work with color vector art was no big deal.