Power Sound Audio - Tom Vodhanel

Dan Driscoll

Power Sound Audio - Tom Vodhanel
« on: 13 Sep 2012, 06:59 pm »
In case anyone is interested, Tom Vodhanel, a co-founder and former head of R&D at SVS who left in 2007, has started a new sub-woofer manufacturing company caller Power Sound Audio, along with another former SVS head engineer, Jim Farina. The website is appropriately enough, http://www.powersoundaudio.com/.

Disclaimer: I have no relationship with either company and have never owned an SVS or Power Sound sub. In the past I have participated in discussions with Tom on various audio & HT forums, but that was 5+ years ago. I have never met him or Jim IRL and was not asked to post this.

coke

Re: Power Sound Audio - Tom Vodhanel
« Reply #1 on: 13 Sep 2012, 07:18 pm »
I have 2, XV15s

It's my first time with dual subs and I'm having a little trouble finding the best place to put them, but so far I'm very impressed with the subs.

Also, they reply to emails faster than any company I've ever dealt with.

Here's an example.  I sent an email asking for help and got this about 30 minutes later.  Easy to see it was written for me and not just a generic email.

"I don't think sealed versus ported would make much difference here. The way the room interacts with a subwoofer will primary depend on the frequency response of the subwoofer so unless the sealed subwoofer had very little output below 30hz(for example) anything affecting the XV15s would also affect a sealed subwoofer in much the same manner.

Also, be sure to re-calibrate the subwoofer(s) output level each time you try a different location. If you don't a new location that provides much more output(like your rear corners) will sound very boomy at first. But once you dial back the gain controls to match your SPL meter it may sound very good.