ACI Force XL sub help

cipv

ACI Force XL sub help
« on: 11 Sep 2012, 08:19 pm »
I currently got my hands on one of these subs for a very good price but I cant seem to get it to work properly. I know the sub was not abused or anything since I bought it from a classic musician who values his equipment and quality of sound...

My main problem is that if I have the volume turned up on my receiver the sub will overheat and turn off....

Setup is:
FL/FR - polk monito 60s
Center - Klipsch Icon XL-23
Receiver - Yamaha RX-V471
Surrounds - Still looking for a good option here... no surround as of right now

I am pretty new to home audio and dont understand some aspects very well so I'm sure the problem lies with something I have done wrong.

So far the sub is hooked into the LFE output of the receiver with a Y-splitter at the other end into the R and L channels on the back of the sub. I read it is better to havbe the receiver handle the crossover so it is at max on the sub and set to 80 on the receiver setup.

Any help would be appreciated!!

medium jim

Re: ACI Force XL sub help
« Reply #1 on: 12 Sep 2012, 02:09 am »
Welcome to the AC!  I don't have an answer for you, but I'm hoping someone here will be able to help you out.

Jim

srb

« Reply #2 on: 12 Sep 2012, 02:58 am »
The Force XL has three input jacks, a Left and Right that use the internal crossover of the sub and a single Theater input (also labeled LFE on some other subs) which bypasses the internal crossover when using the crossover in a receiver or processor with its LFE output.

I'm not sure why the sub would overheat and shutdown with your present connections, but try the theatre input (which is what you want when using the receiver's crossover anyway) and see if that makes a difference.

Steve

Joe_K

« Reply #3 on: 12 Sep 2012, 03:16 am »
Welcome to AudioCircle.
I would try what srb recommends, if that doesn't take care of it,