What do you guys think of the Audio-Technica LP60 for a starter table?

painted_klown

Hey guys,

I am interested in getting into vinyl on the cheap, and stumbled across the Audio-Technica LP60 for a mere $70.

I don't have a lot of funds to put toward a table as I have other priorities (audio and otherwise) that I have to focus on.

I also dug up a site that sells an upgraded version of this table for $100. It can be found here.
http://www.lpgear.com/product/ATLP60.html

So, what do you guys think?

Is this table sufficient enough to get me "spinning the black circle" either upgraded or not?  :D

Just for a little idea of what I have for a record collection. It's nearly all garage sale/thrift store records that have been stored improperly.  :oops:

Hey, I am a noob to vinyl (and have actually only been into "hi-fi" for just a few years).

However, it is my love of audio and music that makes getting into vinyl so appealing to me. As stated, my budget is tight, so I am just looking for something to play my old 25 cent records on, not necessarily trying to "best" CD quality right out of the gate. I am guessing it would take a big $$$ setup to do that anyway.

I have been lurking around here in the vinyl circle, and have read through the "Vinyl Newbies" thread, but some of that stuff got over my head a bit, and didn't really focus on ultra low cost options to get into the vinyl hobby.

To be quite honest, I find vinyl to be a little intimidating at this point. Everything from cleaning records, prepping them for proper storage, setting up the table, adjusting tracking force, anti-skate, etc becomes a bit mind boggling and seems to be almost "ritualistic" in the manner in which it is all done.

It's the romantic notion of giving love to these great old records and thrift store finds that is really appealing to us guys looking in from the outside, so to speak.

Thanks for reading, and any/all advice is welcomed.  :D

-Dave

Russtafarian