KR Audio value

jostber

KR Audio value
« on: 1 Sep 2012, 05:13 am »
The KR Audio tubes are some beautiful looking tubes, and they should sound very good as their prices are very high. All tubes are handmade, like in this video: http://www.tubedepot.com/kr.html

Anyone tried these and can report of their quality versus value?

SET Man

Re: KR Audio value
« Reply #1 on: 2 Sep 2012, 03:38 am »
Hey!

They are beautiful indeed. The weight, feel, fit and finish is excellent. Extremely well made for sure. I've been using their tubes since 1999 when I bought my SET amps.

I have a pair of Welborne Labs Apollo 1.5 of which were designed around the KR Audio 300BXLS and the later 842VHD tube putting out 18 w/ch.

Yes, I like the sound and maybe that's why I still have these amps in today after all these years. I am on my second pair of the KR tube now. Those tubes have been reliable and seems to last.

The downside of those KR's tubes is the price. Believe it or not, when I bought those amps back in 1999 a pair of KR 300BXLS cost $475! Now a pair will set you back almost $1200... Ouch! I have no idea that they would cost this much now when I bought my amps back then.  :x So are they a good value? Well, that is up to you to decide. But I have to say if you are talking about 300B I would definitely put the KR's 300B on the list.

Since these amps are designed to run at higher voltage with these specific type of tube there are not many other that I just can pop them in place of these KR Audio. The only alternative that I think should work is form Emission Labs, looks well made also and cheaper too but haven't try them yet.

Take care,
Buddy  :thumb:

h00hbt

« Reply #2 on: 2 Sep 2012, 06:46 am »
Hi