Advantage of Multiple Midrange drivers on OB?

hrosenba

Advantage of Multiple Midrange drivers on OB?
« on: 26 Jun 2012, 04:04 pm »
Hi,
I'm not a DIY'er.  Have seen some designs (eg Donald North-- DNA Sequence uses 4 cone midrange drivers) that use >1 midrange driver, with or without a dedicated smaller tweeter.  Do the possible advantages (efficiency, room interaction) outweight costs or complexity? I see that Bob Brines has discussed an OB using the Alpair 7.3 with an H-frame 18 inch Goldwood woofer; curious if any advantage in using more than one of the Alpair drivers.
Thanks,
Harvey

-Richard-

Re: Advantage of Multiple Midrange drivers on OB?
« Reply #1 on: 27 Jun 2012, 01:58 am »
Hi Harvey ~

I have very little technical knowledge and rely on the generosity and creative intelligence of our incredibly helpful and knowledgeable OB DIY community on Audiocircle.

That said I can share a "philosophical" perspective with you. This OB thread was started with people, like myself, who where interested in making a leap from "commercial" hi-fi/audio, with its hype and high-prices... with its nasty habits of advertising audio as an elite sub-culture of financially "arrived" professionals who use audio as status jewelry... so that we could enjoy music on the highest possible level without spending outrageous amounts of money... with the emphasis being on loving music and the pleasure of music.

The OB paradigm is perfect for us precisely because it is simple and open to a relatively simple DIY approach... even someone like myself with my very limited technical background could feel confident enough... thanks to this wonderful forum... to jump in and experiment.