My Trip to Magnepan

Bardo

My Trip to Magnepan
« on: 21 May 2012, 03:51 pm »
*** Here's a post I posted elsewhere, but I think it would be good to share here too***

Well, I’m back from Magnepan!

I got to have a factory tour and had a chance to listen to the 20.7’s in stereo and as part of a tri-center with a CCR and MMC2’s. Sorry, I didn’t take pictures. Also, please forgive my lack of detailed explanations and terminology. I'm quite new to this game.

Wendell gave my wife and I the tour, and I have to agree with Josh, he was a genuinely nice guy and appeared to get pretty excited showing me around and demo’ing the tri-center for me. It was a great experience. We drove form Fargo to White Bear Lake and still had to make it to Chicago that day. I would have loved to stay longer, but we had to go after 2 hours.

The majority of the tour was while everyone was on lunch break, as that’s just the time I arrived. It was pretty neat to see all the models. They were building 20.7’s on the day I was there. I did finally get to see Mylar for the first time and see how they assembled the ribbons and adhered everything together. Wendell did drop a ribbon in my hand that was 2-3 inches long and, like he says, I couldn’t feel it land on my hand at all.

I wanted to hear the 3.7’s in a tri-center because I just ordered the 3.7’s, but apparently a prospective 20.7 buyer was flying in the next day so Wendell told me we’d have to listen to the 20.7’s. With how busy he is with The SHOW, I completely understand trying to save time by not setting up the room twice.