Better Sound Late at Night

Early B.

Better Sound Late at Night
« on: 12 May 2012, 12:15 pm »
My system appears to sound better late at night. I've heard many others say this, as well, and a generally accepted explanation is that the power is "cleaner" late at night.

Regardless of the reason, I'm wondering if my system would benefit from a higher quality power conditioner if it I get better sound at night. It seems to me that a good power conditioner would provide "clean" sound 24/7.

michaelhigh

Re: Better Sound Late at Night
« Reply #1 on: 12 May 2012, 01:14 pm »
I'm new to the tube game, and in the owner's manual for my Decware Zen Triode Select they speak of epiphanies occurring late at night when the power is cleanest, and of course I had to see for myself. I have  some high definition files, 24/96 and 24/192, and I figured those would be the most obviously affected. Turns out that even the 16/44.1 files sound more transparent, multiple veils lifted off of the songs, and overall, everything I play really late at night (probably starting at least around midnight) sounds noticeably better than during peak usage hours (power of suggestion/placebo effect? Hard to tell...). I'm amazed at the performance I'm getting and wish I'd discovered this phenomena sooner. It sems that everytime I get a new addition to my main system I have late-night sessions just out of a desire to really get into the listening, and to see how the new piece adds or subtracts to or from my overall presentation. The clean power after hours sure lends itself to superior listening, from my perspective. Makes me think twice about exploring power conditioners to further that theory, to improve my presentation during peak hours. :green:

Waker

« Reply #2 on: 14 May 2012, 10:08 pm »
Makes me think twice about exploring power conditioners to further that theory, to improve my presentation during peak hours.