KT-120 Tubes? Has anybody tried them?

Keoma

KT-120 Tubes? Has anybody tried them?
« on: 12 Apr 2012, 04:13 pm »
Dear all: I am new to the world of tubes, having recently purchased a Prima Luna DiaLogue One (and loving it), which I outfitted with Gold Lion's KT88's in place of the standard EL-34's to give my speakers (Sonus faber Toy Towers) that little extra tightness, control and dynamic punch (even though I do miss some of the EL-34's warmth and velvety glow).

Recently, I have been reading a lot about the new KT-120 tube, and supposedly they would work fine in my Prima Luna (the new Dialogue Premium amp will even come outfitted with them, as an option). Could you well-versed and more experienced folks give me a little bit of info and background about this particular type of tube? How would you compare it to a KT-88? Has anybody used them in their own system? Feedback and opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

decal

Re: KT-120 Tubes? Has anybody tried them?
« Reply #1 on: 12 Apr 2012, 05:01 pm »
I tried the TungSol KT-120 in my Rogue Audio Tempest II Magnum for about a month. I found them too strident in my system. The Gold Lion trumped them in every way. Remember, this is what I heard in my system, you may find them perfectly acceptable in yours. Tubes are a very personal subject, you really need to try them in your system and decide for yourself

rpf

« Reply #2 on: 12 Apr 2012, 05:27 pm »
I tried the TungSol KT-120 in my Rogue Audio Tempest II Magnum for about a month. I found them too strident in my system. The Gold Lion trumped them in every way. Remember, this is what I heard in my system, you may find them perfectly acceptable in yours. Tubes are a very personal subject, you really need to try them in your system and decide for yourself.

Tubes are indeed very personal: they can produce highly varying sounds. And small signal tubes (pre-amp, drivers and phase splitters) can alter the sound substantially also.