x-Statiks stereo system question

the7comeback7kid

x-Statiks stereo system question
« on: 10 Apr 2012, 07:25 pm »
Hello everyone. I have been enjoying a pair of n2x's for a few years and finally was given the go to move my x-statiks to my listening room. I am getting the crossovers upgraded with sonicaps and mills resistors on the tweeter circuit thanks to advice from Danny. My system is as follows -
macbook pro =>Firestone fubar w/ supplier (upgaded to Burr Brown OPA) => Virtue Audio one w/ 130w PSU => xstatics / Outlaw lfm1ex sub.

I was curious if anyone had any imput on the bottleneck here. I am assuming the x-statiks will beat out the N2x's but I may be mistaken given the rest of my components. I will be looking to upgrading another component in the next few weeks and was curious where my money is best spent. I also have an Emotiva xpa-5 sitting around collecting dust.

Thanks in advance for any advice.  :D

SoCalWJS

Re: x-Statiks stereo system question
« Reply #1 on: 10 Apr 2012, 08:02 pm »
A couple of questions are probably in order.
What areas do you think are lacking? What kind of music do you listen to? What is the size of your room? What shape is it?  Does it have any treatments? etc. The more info you provide the better the chance of getting a helpful response.
I'm a big fan of room treatments, especially if you don't have any in place yet. I think a few hundred spent on treatments will make a bigger difference than spending the same amount a better DAC for example.

the7comeback7kid

« Reply #2 on: 10 Apr 2012, 08:19 pm »