Tempesta Amp/Preamp

ral950

Tempesta Amp/Preamp
« on: 10 Jan 2012, 08:04 am »
I'm new to Selah....placed order recently based on many of your comments. TY. 

I have not found many posts on amps / preamp experiences.  There was one post about 9 months ago on W4S "should" be good. Has anyone had experience with W4S (or any other mfg) with Tempestas?

I'm thinking SS 125wpc. Room size is 22x15 with 10 ft ceilings.  Mostly listen to vocals, jazz, piano, some light rock.  I do like my music accurate, revealing, but not harsh (non-fatigue). Maybe that's asking too much. 

kip_

Re: Tempesta Amp/Preamp
« Reply #1 on: 10 Jan 2012, 01:56 pm »
What's your budget? I'd consider amps from AVA if you value musicality.

jonbee

« Reply #2 on: 10 Jan 2012, 03:30 pm »
Congrats on the Tempestas. After 43 years in the hobby and ~250 pairs of speakers, the Ts have probably taken me off the market for good in my main rig. They are just plain beautiful to listen to, in a real way, not euphonically. After 9 months my wife and I still find them a delight every time we hear them, which is a lot. I still find it difficult some nights to shut them off and go to bed. And they sound great on lesser sources as well, like cable tv sound, etc. BTW, I found they need at least 100 hours to open up, and they seem to improve over 200 plus hours. I know Rick doesn't agree,but that's the way I've heard it. Accuton says 300 hours for breakin on their drivers.
I use a modded PS Audio GCC-500 with my Tempestas, which uses the ICEpower amps, which the W4S amps also use.