New Servo-controlled Plant Stand.

Plund

New Servo-controlled Plant Stand.
« on: 2 Jan 2012, 07:07 pm »
I've been enjoying this servo-sub addition to my N3 towers for a few months now.  Listening in two channel, the towers sound very good by themselves.  But with this single, Rythmic 370PEQ/12" Gr driver filling-in the lower freq's of piano, cello, Bass, etc, the combination is even better!  Sorry I can't compare with other subs...this is the first sub I've owned.

During this build I attempted to practice a few things I've learned from reading the many expertise-packed posts in this circle.  i.e. vacuum bagging, and attempting to create a piano-black gloss finish.   After building a vacuum bag and procuring an ebay vacuum pump, I vacuum bagged raw cherry veneer on the side panels to match my existing N3 towers.  I followed the box plans found on Danny's site then finished the box out with walnut legs and trim. I decided I liked working with walnut...nice wood!  Both the cherry veneer and walnut were finished with alcohol-based dye and a few coats of old-school shelac. 
    I used rattle-can krylon, then cascading grades of sandpaper, then polishing compound in an attempt at a piano-black finish (with mediocre success).  I clearly need to refine my technique for a better result if I do this again, but will likely leave piano-black finishes to the pros.

Thanks again Danny for another great design/product and to the many of you who generously share your expertise!
Pete

ebag4

Re: New Servo-controlled Plant Stand.
« Reply #1 on: 2 Jan 2012, 07:12 pm »
Beautiful job Pete, really first rate.

How do you like using the vacuum approach to veneering as opposed to how you built the N3s?  Did you use the iron on method for the N3s?

Best,
Ed

jeffh

« Reply #2 on: 2 Jan 2012, 08:32 pm »
 :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
The sub looks great!

Danny Richie

« Reply #3 on: 2 Jan 2012, 09:11 pm »
Wow, that looks great.

SlushPuppy

« Reply #4 on: 2 Jan 2012, 09:44 pm »