Headphone Noob Here

ajzepp

Headphone Noob Here
« on: 24 Dec 2011, 11:56 pm »
Hey all...

I've been wanting to get into headphones for a while. I have pretty much settled on picking up a pair of Beyerdynamic 880s, the 600 ohm version. I was also pretty much settled on getting a Schitt Valhalla amp to pair with them, but now I'm wondering if a portable headphone amp might be more appealing to me.

Can you guys tell me if there are portables that mate well with higher impedance headphones such as the 880s? Can portable amp sound be as good as a regular headphone amp?

Also, my source wuold be my iPod. I have it full of lossless files, and I know that some docks/cables utilize the iPods DAC whereas others bypass it. What would be the best type of cable to use in order to keep the quality of my lossless files intact?

Thanks all...and Merry Christmas/Happy HOlidays!

milford3

Re: Headphone Noob Here
« Reply #1 on: 25 Dec 2011, 02:53 am »
Nothing I've ever owned has beat this combo.  The beyer DT990 and the Schiit Valhla tube amp.  Holy crap!

eclein

• Volunteer
  • ..we walk the plank with our eyes wide open!-Gotye
« Reply #2 on: 25 Dec 2011, 05:10 am »
ajzepp welcome to what seems like Disneyland sometimes when you get going full bore into headphones.
 Correct if I'm wrong but it sounds like you plan on using these alot when maybe you travel for work, commute etc...just check the laws in your state as far as wearing something that starts isolating your ears from hearing emergency vehicles and such.
 If your wearing them for those occasions just make sure your comfortable with wearing big headphones around town and someone snatching them....

OK...I have HE-5LE's and use anything I can find, AV Receiver for late night movies, I can get a decent signal from a Fiio E11 portable headphone amp. It sounds under powered but it can be done and more and more companies are making portables that can drive difficult headphones.