SongTowers vs. Definitive ST?

Deanster

SongTowers vs. Definitive ST?
« on: 16 Dec 2011, 05:18 am »
Hi all - Total newb to the Circle here, digging deep into research for my first pair of 'good' speakers.

I'm buying for almost 100% music listening, mixed rock/pop/classical/hiphop/acoustic/some opera. Destination is a 15x20 room with persian area rugs over hardwood, 8'3" ceilings, plaster/lath walls with a mix of bookcases, and smaller tables on the walls. Large windows with cellular blinds, poofy fabric couches. TV sound is through Sony Soundbar, which I don't want to complicate or have be any louder than it already is.  :D   

I'm expecting to choose a fairly simple but powerful amp based on the speakers I select - presumably a Yamaha, Marantz, or other mid-range brand. Source material will realistically be 90% 256kbps AAC/mp3 files off iPod/Mac. I have some stuff on FLAC/Apple Lossless, but I anticipate that the convenience of the iPod will win out in actual usage.

I've been auditioning speakers at the usual suspects - Magnolia, Fry's, etc. So far, everything they have has been lousy, with a couple exceptions. There was a pair of Polk LSi25's that didn't make me want to flee, and a pair of Klipsch RF-7 II's that seemed tolerable.

The first set of speakers I've heard that seemed like they'd actually be a winner was the Definitive ST's - and even the little brother STS wasn't bad.

There seems to be a fair amount of consensus in comparisons that the Songtowers outmatch the DefTech ST's, and at a substantially lower price. I haven't yet had the chance to audition Songtowers here in the Seattle area. I see refurb Definitive ST's for $2500, which is awfully close to my likely all-in cost from Salk. 

I'd very much appreciate any thoughts - how do the Songtowers match up with the ST's, with a special focus on whether the Songtowers would still be your choice at price parity? 

mathgeek97

Re: SongTowers vs. Definitive ST?
« Reply #1 on: 19 Dec 2011, 03:47 pm »