Win 7 Music Server

adydula

• Restricted
Win 7 Music Server
« on: 1 Nov 2011, 08:25 pm »
For the past several months I have been looking at several PC based solutions for all my ripped Flacs.....500 cds, 7K songs etc.

I played with a vortexbox and a WIN 7 laptop and looked at a ALIX solution as well.

I am what I will say is a 'expert' level pc person. I have been a system engineer for IBM and have been there since day 1 of the PC1 and still muck around with them.

Presently I have 5 towers and 4 laptops and a tablet plus several experiments!! LOL..

I went thru the Squeezeox Touch thing, playing FLACS via Laptop and enet to my Oppo BD83SE to use its Sabre Dacs...

Used a Tablet and an Android phone as a controller to  a Laptop via Jriver and Gizmo.

in the end I have settled in on a WIN 7 PC notebook, stripped down to minimal services and its working very well.

The notebook has WIN 7 64 bit Professional on it, runnning Jriver Music Center 16.

All flacs are on the single 320gb hard drive, no SSD in it.

I have an Iomega USB wireless keyboard that controls the PC very well over 20 feet away if needed.
I sit 15 feet from the speakers in the sweet spot.

With most solutions the display ie Squeezebox is very small and hard to read from 15 feet away. Even with the Gizmo app on the Android phone things are just well SMALL even with a Tablet things are better but the real deal here is :

HDMI from the notebook to my 58" plasma TV/Display...

JRiver has a a Theater view and using this and the hdmi connection to the 58" plasma you have a wonderful visual display of your albums / cd's etc...and there are more integrated items available as well....YouTube, Hulu, your TV, etc.....even the C:\ and the WIN7 file system...

I see no need for a Android app on a phone or Tablet...all the information is easliy readable even for me at a ripe old age of 62!!! Without any glasses!!