You people scare me. :-)

ScottMayo

« on: 26 Apr 2004, 03:47 pm »
I'm considering buying RM/X's, but 2 things stop me:

1) No one within 200 miles seems to have a pair, so I can't audition before I buy (can anyone fix this? I'm in North Central Mass), AND

2) You people all seem to be tweakers, and you mostly claim that a 15$ investment in wool or bracing or overhanging wood produces a noticable sonic difference in VMPS speakers - leading me to believe that VMPS is missing *really* simple, cheap improvements in their design. And that's just fundamentally disturbing. You don't hear hordes of Nautilus 802 owners tweaking...

I'm new to VMPS - I've never seen or heard a pair of VMPS speakers anywhere - and I'm intrigued, but skeptical. On one hand, the 20 people in the world who seem to own high end VMPS swear their speakers walk on water, in fact they claim they jog past speakers costing 5x as much. On the other... if a 15$ tweak makes *any* audible improvement in a 12,000$ (or even 4,000$) speaker, something's very wrong. ANY manufacturer would be OVERJOYED to cut their profits by 0.1% to get noticably better sound! And I don't want to spend hours with a screwdriver, worrying that I'm going to scratch the finish on my speakers or snap an expensive wire: I want to spend that time listening to music.

So come clean, people. I'm holding up buying speakers because I want to give the VMPS a chance (and because Nautilus 802's are just a little too laid back for me, and because I keep hoping someone will sell some 6 month old Pipedreams for under $10,000 - such is my fantasy life). But I'm not spending that kind of money on a speaker I need to tweak. So, assuming I *ever* get to listen and buy, do these speakers really need the "tweak of the week" to sound their best, or am I going to get what I'm after: the best possible quality for my cash, without Some Significant Reassembly Required?