New BDP-2 user

moonblue77

New BDP-2 user
« on: 20 Nov 2023, 08:20 am »
Hello from the UK!

I'm new to the Bryston forum and introducing myself.

Listening to music has been an important part of my life for 50 years after purchasing my first hi-fi system at the age of 16. Over the decades I've traded up, and two years ago I bought a BHA-1, and just recently acquired a pre-owned BDA-2 and BDP-2. I'm impressed with it all.

I have an issue with the BDP-2 though. The Squeezebox components are not showing up in the list of services. Everything else that should be there is there.

I've got the LMS and Squeezelite running on my PC, and I've got the latest Manic Moose on the BDP-2.

I've have tried to solve it myself, but now reaching out and any help will be much appreciated. (I'm a software engineer by profession and have reasonable experience with Linux, web applications, and networks, so please feel free to speak tech if needed).

Thanks

jobiwon

Re: New BDP-2 user
« Reply #1 on: 20 Nov 2023, 05:26 pm »
You mean this?

moonblue77

« Reply #2 on: 21 Nov 2023, 07:19 am »
Yes, that!

jcn3

« Reply #3 on: 21 Nov 2023, 03:23 pm »
Yes, that!

have you updated the software on the bdp-2 to the latest version?

moonblue77

« Reply #4 on: 22 Nov 2023, 09:08 am »
Thanks for the question.

Yes, the firmware is the latest version and the checksum passes. The MPD works ok. I connected to my Qobuz account ok.

Just the Squeezeslave and Squeezelite services are missing for some reason. I listen to BBC radio a lot and that is why I use the LMS and Squeezelite player.

I purchased the BDP-2 from a UK Bryston dealer. I assume it was factory reset before I got it.

Do I need to do anything to the CF / database?

James Tanner

• Facilitator
  • The Demo is Everything!
    • http://www.bryston.com
« Reply #5 on: 22 Nov 2023, 11:44 am »
Hi Moon - email Chris on this - crice@bryston.com

moonblue77

« Reply #6 on: 23 Nov 2023, 07:33 am »
Will do. Thanks James

cmccaul