My used Magnepan 1.6's are missing sparkly treble. Why?

Paul_In_WA

Hi.  I am new to Audio Circle. I recently bought a pair of used Magnepan 1.6 speakers.  Unclear how old they are but they appear to be in good condition and the panels look good when shining a flashlight through.  And the speakers sound good except they are almost completely lacking in that bright sparkly treble that I thought they were known for.  Something like  chimes or a triangle simply isn't in the music played through the 1.6's.  If you stand right next to the speaker you can hear those instruments very muted but not at any normal listening distance.  I've tried googling to see if this is a known problem with these old 1.6's but without any luck.

The speakers were modified to remove the fuse.  Attached are images of the back panel and what is behind it.  Could the capacitors have gone bad or is it more likely that there is a problem with the tweeter ribbons?

Does anybody know what might be causing this or if it is fixable?

mick wolfe

Re: My used Magnepan 1.6's are missing sparkly treble. Why?
« Reply #1 on: 20 Aug 2020, 03:29 pm »
Hopefully some Maggie owners will soon chime in, but your statement about the original fuse being eliminated/by-passed sounds a bit suspect. (this assuming the fuse protects the tweeter section) That coupled with the fact you're apparently not hearing any output from the tweeter section. I'd have a conversation with the seller.

JakeJ

« Reply #2 on: 20 Aug 2020, 04:04 pm »
I agree with Mick, it sounds like the ribbons are toast and yes that is what the fuse is for.  Might call Magnepan and see what the replacement ribbons cost and if you are handy do the labor yourself.  I have 3.6r's and it's fairly easy to replace the ribbons in them.  Judging from a few pics online it looks about like mine.

Sure hope you didn't pay much for them.

Emil

« Reply #3 on: 20 Aug 2020, 04:28 pm »
Well that sucks.

I'm assuming this is the first time you're giving them a listen?