Midrange help. Domes vs. cones?

T_love16

Midrange help. Domes vs. cones?
« on: 3 Feb 2021, 02:23 pm »
Hello everyone,

I'm a bonafide freshman here, so I apologise for any naivety with this query. I'm definitely still in the learning and listening phase with all of this.

I am working on a 3-way loudspeaker project where I have a fairly clear (soup-like) idea of what I want the end product to be... the 'design parameters' maybe??

I am, however, lost when it comes to the many midrange options out there. A few years ago, I would have gone straight to a Wavecore / Scanspeak / SB midrange strategy. Maybe a 2 x 4" - 5 1/2" dedicated mid-woofers in parallel for an MTM + woofer idea? Or maybe just a single dedicated midrange or planar option?

Now there seems to be some promising midrange dome options, with high sensitivity and great freq/HD measurements. Maybe they've always existed, and I've just missed the boat? Anyway, I'm very interested and very confused...

Here are my design thinkings (3 way, MTM + Woofer, OR more likely a standard 3-way system). Please let me know any thoughts on these ideas, a lot is 'good old wishful thinking':

• Full range system, with a 'big', transparent sound stage. Think JBL L100 / Klipsch Heresy IV etc.
• High sensitivity - 93 db+ (2.83V/1m)
• Extended and even SPL frequency response (heavy on a version of R&D = measuring, adjusting, measuring. adjusting)
• Minimal nonlinear distortion, good off axis response.. however I'm not not scrupulous here; I'm after a loudspeaker with character and definition.
• Dual 10" Woofers, approx. 40Hz to 500Hz (considering Volt BM2500.4 https://voltloudspeakers.co.uk/loudspeakers/bm25004-10/))
• Looking at Beryllium tweeter, waveguide / baby horn (considering https://sbacoustics.com/wp-content/u...TW29BNWG-4.pdf)
• Midrange... I need advice!

Has anyone used dome midranges in a 3-way? What are your thoughts? What are the sound characteristics?

I was looking at the purchasing these two to test: