Help me equip a 5.1 audio listening room

AirKuhl

Help me equip a 5.1 audio listening room
« on: 6 Oct 2009, 06:07 pm »
I have recently really been getting into surround audio and I may have an opportunity to create a dedicated listening/HT room.  I'm interested in creating a system that first and foremost is optimized for surround audio, secondarily stereo audio, and lastly movies.  In other words, there will be full range music coming from the satellite speakers helping to create a 3D soundstage, as opposed to just whooshy sound effects in movies.  I am impressed with the Salk products and hope to get some advice here for the preamp/amp/speaker chain.  I'm a musician/engineer and know the pro gear pretty well but not the home audio as much.

Parameters:
Room would be a converted 2 car garage, carpet over cement floor, 9' ceiling, basically rectangular.
Preamp or receiver needs to be video friendly as well, with support for at least 3 HDMI video sources and 2 audio sources
I'm attaching a crappy pic of the room as it sits today.  You'll notice the limited room I have to work with for the L/R pair due to the media closets.  Can't imagine that having the speakers way up in those cutouts above the screen would make sense.  Maybe have to wall mount them, I dunno.  That little black square below the cabinet is a sub closet.
I'm very picky about the high end and value non-fatiguing treble and a large, focused soundstage over total accuracy and massive bass response.
I listen to just about anything, but mostly complicated prog style rock and acoustic guitar based songs, with a lot of focus on vocal harmonies.
Budget is ~$15K.

Thanks!

charmerci

Re: Help me equip a 5.1 audio listening room
« Reply #1 on: 6 Oct 2009, 07:01 pm »
Of course, you start here! (With other Salkaholics coming soon to give you other suggestions.  :D )

http://www.salksound.com/speakers_hts.shtml

They are designed to be in-wall or against the wall.

Art_Chicago