Technics SL-1200 MK II / Origin Live Illustrious Mk. III tonearm

TheChairGuy

Another topic was commandeered by Wayner (in a good way as there was lots of good impressions he had as he received his new Technics SL-1200 about the same time as I did).  But, rather than add my impressions on this tandem to that wandering  :roll: post - I thought I'd start a new one here.

About halfway down p. 10 of the Technics...Bastardization topic I introduce the Origin Live arm into the mix....but never posted my impressions afterwards: http://www.audiocircle.com/index.php?topic=48506.90

FINALLY - I think I finally have this rig set up right now.

It's NEVER a good thing to have a new deck and a new tonearm together with one who is accustomed to neither. Tho I'm far from a vinyl newbie....I AM something of a newbie to aftermarket arms and such. Most of my decks in the past were those with captive arms and fairly straightforward to set up.

The Origin Live Illustrious MK. III, with VTA, requires skill and patience beyond which I needed before.

Tonearm lifter, tonearm lifter angle, counterweight, angle of thin arm for holding side bias weight and even the platform itself (relative to the yoke of the tonearm) are all set with (different size) metric allen keys.

Beyond that you still have the less-than-easy VTA adjustment.....you need to loosen the nuts underneath the table each time you make an adjustment. The slick VTA adjustment on the stock Technics SL-1200 is a fantastic aid in itself.

Furthering progress today was understanding of stylus overhang. The OL and Rega arms share the same geometry at 17mm. Not knowing this (  :oops: until I read the manual tonite) I had it set at 15mm. Boy, that change alone paid off rich dividends...a much smoother and fluid presentation was the result.

I'm playing A Charlie Brown Christmas...Vince Guaraldi's wonderful work that I play any time of the year. Brilliant, just brilliant, it sounds now.