Another question for tube lovers

Waker

Another question for tube lovers
« on: 18 Jun 2011, 03:55 am »
I am a tube noob, and am enjoying the happy delusion that I now have no need to add vinyl--tubes have removed any vestige of that digital "pane of glass," for lack of description.  I have this impression that tubes bring out more of what was intended with digital rather than what is criticized as inevitable. So, how well do your tube amps do in making your (pure) CD source sound analog, or more like vinyl? 

Quiet Earth

Re: Another question for tube lovers
« Reply #1 on: 18 Jun 2011, 04:10 am »
I believe that my CD player is 99% responsible for how good my CDs sound. The rest of my gear tells me so.  :D

rollo

• Industry Participant
  • Rollo Audio Consulting -
« Reply #2 on: 18 Jun 2011, 01:39 pm »
  Tubes after the CDP will compliment the sound. Adding some color. To take it a bit further a tubed CDP like the EE DAC or Lector CDP enhances the effect.

charles

woofersus

• Industry Participant
  • Authorized Dealer: Melody & Angel City Audio
    • East Street Audio
« Reply #3 on: 18 Jun 2011, 10:57 pm »
Not to mention a tube isn't just a tube, so to speak.  There are a hundred different flavors available.

If you love the sound of vinyl, there will probably be no substitute for the real thing, but for many people, a quality cdp and just the right tubes can give a lot of analog bliss.  I'm personally not a fan of vinyl, but I love tubes.  I find that the whole thing just sounds more natural - more real.  With vinyl there are some tradeoffs.  You do get a slightly more organic feel to the sound, but I just can't stand the smearing of detail that I detect on even the best setups.  It's not even the noise floor that bothers me.  I really like tape actually, but it's not generally practical at this point in time. (real tape, not cassettes)

(ps. I heard rollo's Lector CDP and it's fantastic :) )

SteveFord

• Volunteer
  • The poodle bites, the poodle chews it.