N2X or N3 as an In-Wall Design?

dman

N2X or N3 as an In-Wall Design?
« on: 21 Feb 2011, 02:50 pm »
Hi,
I'm a newbie here but have been lurking for a while. After searching quite bit I've been unable to find much on the topic of building any of the GR designs into the walls. I assume it's because this type of speaker has to make a lot compromises.

I'm thinking about building a set of N2x or N3 mostly for music but also for home theater use. The mains would be built the conventional way. However, the room layout dictates that the surrounds be built into the wall. I'm considering building sealed enclosures to fit between the studs. The walls are 2X6 so there should be plenty of depth. Has anyone here successfully built the N2X or N3s as in-wall design?

Thanks in advance
Dave

Danny Richie

Re: N2X or N3 as an In-Wall Design?
« Reply #1 on: 21 Feb 2011, 02:56 pm »
I'm a newbie here but have been lurking for a while. After searching quite bit I've been unable to find much on the topic of building any of the GR designs into the walls. I assume it's because this type of speaker has to make a lot compromises.

Yeah, you basically have to design it on or in a wall so that the wall reflections are part of the measured response.

I'm thinking about building a set of N2x or N3 mostly for music but also for home theater use. The mains would be built the conventional way. However, the room layout dictates that the surrounds be built into the wall. I'm considering building sealed enclosures to fit between the studs. The walls are 2X6 so there should be plenty of depth. Has anyone here successfully built the N2X or N3s as in-wall design?

Anytime you build a speaker into the wall, it will always sound like it is planing from the wall forward.

Have a look at our A/V-1RS. http://www.gr-research.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=113