Preparing for the BDP-1

c_note

Preparing for the BDP-1
« on: 24 Oct 2010, 02:45 am »
Guys, I'm a newbie to ripping cd's to my hard drive, so any advice is kindly appreciated.  I recently bought a new iMac and am in the process of ripping much of my cd collection to iTunes using Apple Lossless conversion.  Within the next six months I plan to buy a BDP-1, using multiple thumb drives to access my cd collection.  I currently listen to cd's thru a Bryston BCD-1 and Bryston mono-blocks, so I'm used to good sound.

My question is, how good is Apple Lossless for this ripping process?  Even on my iMac and my car stereo I can tell a very clear difference between Lossless and regular compressed downloads.  Apple Lossless is clearly fine for iTunes, but is it good enough for preparing for the BDP-1?  I've heard other people here mention Exact Audio Copy software and the RipNAS systems...exactly how do they differ from Apple Lossless?  Are they worth the time, trouble, expense, etc. to re-rip my cd collection?  Are there other options I should be investigating?

James, does Bryston have an official point of view on a preferred approach for ripping a cd library to use with the BDP-1?  If not, I would suggest developing one, as I'm sure many people are as confused as I am!  :D

Thanks in advance!

Stu Pitt

Re: Preparing for the BDP-1
« Reply #1 on: 24 Oct 2010, 03:02 am »
I've tried Apple Lossless, FLAC and WAV, and heard no difference between the three.  I've tried them as CDs (compared to the original), streamed, and stored on my Apple TV's hard drive.

Exact Audio Copy (EAC) may make a difference.  Haven't tried it.  If ripping using iTunes, make sure you use error correction.  It takes a few minutes longer, but it's not that much longer.

A cleaner CD rips easier.  I clean them with Pledge Anti-Static (the electronics one that's non-aerosol).  They sound far better than way in the CDP and ripped.  Sounds stupid, but it works.

Anonamemouse

• +52° 03' 30", +4° 32' 45"