Dodd preamp

MikeCTM2

Dodd preamp
« on: 27 Feb 2004, 04:58 am »
i got the Dodd $450 preamp today.  i installed it just how my solid state preamp was.  i took no precautions with regards to combating a hum.  started up the system and there's no hum at all.  next to the sound.  it sounds great.  i read one person post already how the bass is great.  i'm now listenin' to diana's live in paris and i can see how tubes are a pleasure.  i can see also how people say the system vanishes.  it seems like it's puttin' out more power/energy than my ss pre too.  anyway i could keep goin on but i'm not a pro listener yet.    bottom line it makes the system sound really cool.   piano, violens sound very nice now.   oh i'm glad i'm remembering this - i like it in the looks/build dept too
« Last Edit: 6 Oct 2011, 12:01 am by MikeCTM2 »

MikeCTM2

Dodd preamp
« Reply #1 on: 27 Feb 2004, 06:43 pm »
day 2 of listening now    i can see how people say tubes are nicer to listen to   that is for sure.   the midrange is sounding great and like they say that's what humans are used to hearing, or are familar with.   really great  total listening experience.  sounds more fluid and natural.  drums sound better, vocals sound better, i think just everything sounds better.  highs are nice and pleasant and there's more of an open sound.  which then leads to thoughts about the sound stage or imaging.  much bigger, wider and better sound stage now.  bass is great ofcourse too. dang  i'm listening to jack johnson's new cd now and just can't believe how nice this is.   with the guitar plucking and so on i can see how people describe the sound as organic.   bottom line today  it's obvious why people like tubes.
« Last Edit: 6 Oct 2011, 12:03 am by MikeCTM2 »

chriss

Dodd preamp
« Reply #2 on: 28 Feb 2004, 01:49 am »
Hi Mike,