Tube DAC: Dampers and Vibration.

TJHUB

Tube DAC: Dampers and Vibration.
« on: 11 Oct 2009, 03:20 pm »
As I'm new to tubed audio gear, I've been experimenting with my one piece of tubed gear, my Music Hall DAC 25.2.  I've found my perfect tube and then I tried a tube damper from Herbie.

The tube damper all but completely ruined the sound for me.  It made everything sound dull.  The midrange seemed congested and the highs were just dull.  However the bass seemed more articulate.  I couldn't find any love for my DAC with the tube damper on, so I removed it and all is well again.

So I'm sitting here this morning listening to music and thinking about how dramatic the difference is with a tube damper installed.  Since I have felt vibration by touching the thick aluminum faceplate of my DAC, I decided to experiment a little. 

I took a small fiber filled pillow and placed it underneath my DAC.  What's interesting is that the DAC remains to sound very open in the midrange and very extended in the highs with great attack and decay, but the bass became much more articulate.  I was getting a slight hollow distorted sound from some music that has a lot of double bass in it.  The tube damper removed this and now so does the pillow.  However, the tube damper killed the rest of my sound while the pillow seems to make everything sound MUCH better. 

If audio gear isn't complicated enough, now this tube stuff seems to complicate things even more.  Now I'm placing pillows under my gear?  :o 

The sound is incredibly "better" and I'm thinking I need something a little sexier than one of my wife's decorative pillows under my DAC.  While the pillow seems to have taken nearly all the vibrations away from my DAC, I'm hoping someone can recommend something better.  Possibly the stuff from Herbie's?  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

TJHUB

Re: Tube DAC: Dampers and Vibration.
« Reply #1 on: 11 Oct 2009, 03:38 pm »